‘Sally’s cake’

She loves chocolate, she loves cake and it’s her birthday! What else than a chocolate loaded drip cake?

I wanted to make a memorable birthday cake for my good friend Sally and had never made a chocolate loaded drip cake. So this seemed like the perfect opportunity to practice something new and make a ‘wow’ birthday cake.

The main part of the cake was a Victoria sponge cake. I followed my favourite Mary Berry recipe but as I wanted the cake to be quite big, I adjusted the recipe. This cake had 5 eggs, 290g flour, 290g sugar and 290g butter. I always use plain flour and then add baking powder (5g for every 100g flour) as I find this helps to control the rise. I also added about 5 tablespoons of milk to get it to dropping consistency.

I separated the mixture into two sandwich tins and baked at 170C for about 25 minutes in my fan assisted oven.

Whilst these were cooling I made my buttercream. I used 155g butter and 500g icing sugar with approximately 4 tablespoons of milk.

Once cooled, I sandwiched the cakes together with approximately a quarter of the buttercream. I then put a ‘crumb coat’ around the edge and on the top so that the cake was covered in the cream and I had some left over. I then popped this in the freezer for 10 minutes before adding my second coat of buttercream. Once I ensured I had a smooth second covering with no crumbs, I put this in the fridge to firm up for about 3o minutes.

Once the icing had firmed I made the ganache topping using 100ml double cream and 100g plain chocolate. I poured this slowly on top of the cake, using the back of a spoon in a circular motion to ‘encourage’ the ganache to drip down the side of the cake.

I then decorated the cake using a selection of different chocolates and my homemade chocolate cheesecake truffles. I wanted to add height to give the ‘wow’ factor so started with matchmakers, then bitesize chocolate bars, my truffles and finished with maltesers and mini toblerone pieces.

This cake is best eaten straight away. If you make it in advance, keep it in the fridge but make sure it comes back to room temperature before you serve.

cake.jpg

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SALLY!

party

Thedancingbaker x

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

